Emeritus faculty to be recognized during reception

A reception to honor seven retired faculty members being honored with emeritus status will be held at 3 p.m. Friday in Conner Ballroom. mssu_emeritusfaculty-medallion

Those who have been recommended for emeritus status by their faculty peers are:

  • Al Carnine: School of Arts & Sciences, retired in 2014.
  • Beverly Block: School of Business, retired in 2016.
  • Theresa Agee: School of Business, retired in 2016.
  • Grace Ayton: School of Health Sciences, retired in 2016.
  • Jim Gray: School of Business, retired in 2011.
  • John Tiede: School of Business, retired in 2001.
  • Patricia Murphy: School of Arts & Sciences, retired in 2016.

Faculty emeritus status is granted as a result of meritorious service to the university, including significant contributions in areas such as teaching, job performance, and scholarly and creative activities. In order to be eligible, faculty must hold the rank of associate or full professor after a minimum of 15 years of service. It is typically not awarded until retirement or, in some cases, posthumously.

Nominations for faculty emeritus start at the departmental level and must be approved by the dean of each school before then being approved by the provost and university president, and then voted on by the board.

The seven will also be recognized during the Board of Governors meeting which will begin at 1 p.m. Friday in the BSC Boardroom.